Today GB Basketball named their 24-man squad for the upcoming FIBA EuroBasket 2021 Qualifiers with an Eagle on the roster.

Our Eagles Community Arena plays host to the Great Britain against Germany game on Monday 24 February 2020 and a number of the players suiting up for GB will find the venue a familiar court with visits in their BBL team’s fixtures, but for one of the team in particular it’s now a home-court advantage.


New addition to the Eagles BBL squad Will Saunders has been selected to join the 24 players who will head out to Montenegro for the first game in this international window, returning to Newcastle for game two.

Great Britain head into the final round of FIBA EuroBasket 2021 Qualifying lead by Newcastle-based acting head coach Marc Steutel and riding high on a seven game FIBA winning streak, the best in programme history. The streak stretches all the way back to December 3rd, 2018 when GB beat Cyprus in the second round of EuroBasket pre-qualifying.

With a current world ranking of #41, Great Britain are the underdogs in Group G which includes #5 France, #18 Germany, and #26 Montenegro. Three teams from each qualifying group advance to FIBA EuroBasket 2021. However, as Germany are automatic qualifiers, only the top two teams in Group G are guaranteed to qualify.

The roster features a core group of players from GB’s successful EuroBasket pre-qualifying campaign supplemented by some exciting additions.

Here’s the full Great Britain Men’s National Team Roster for FIBA EuroBasket Qualifying February 2020:

Name Club Country Caps
Fahro Alihodzic Z Mobile Prishtina (KOS) 6
Jamell Anderson Leicester Riders (GBR) 2
Jesse Chuku Leicester Riders (GBR) 0
Dan Clark Morabanc Andorra (ESP) 102
Alasdair Fraser Glasgow Rocks (GBR) 14
Ashley Hamilton Leyma Basquet Coruna (ESP) 22
Myles Hesson Élan Chalon (FRA) 39
Kyle Johnson Stjarnan (ISL) 83
Sacha Killeya-Jones BC Kakev-Cramo (EST) 6
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye Bergamo Basket 2014 (ITA) 2
Andrew Lawrence (GBR) 62
Ben Mockford Cheshire Phoenix (GBR) 37
Gareth Murray Glasgow Rocks (GBR) 58
Luke Nelson BAXI Manresa (ESP) 19
Teddy Okereafor Iraklis BC (GRE) 43
Gabe Olaseni Bursapor (TUR) 34
Tarik Phillip Tofas SC (TUR) 6
Kareem Queeley Burgos II (ESP) 0
Justin Robinson London Lions (GBR) 40
Will Saunders  Newcastle Eagles  (GBR)  23
Ovie Soko London Lions (GBR) 8
Devon Van-Oostrum Landstede Zwolle (NED) 41
Conner Washington VFL Astrostars Bochum (GER) 6
Carl Wheatle OriOra Pistoria (ITA) 13

Coaching Staff:

Head Coach: Marc Steutel
Assistant Coach: Jamie Smith
Assistant Coach: Andreas Kapoulas
Head Performance Analyst: Adam Sewell
Team Manager: Chris Morris
Head Sports Therapist: Tom Cresswell
Physiotherapist: Aaron Wharton
Team Doctor: Dr Dane Vishnubala