Newcastle Eagles 87 (21,43,63) (Moore 23, Jackson 15, Smith 15)
Scottish Rocks 70 (18,39,51) (Johnson 14, Pratt 14, Yanders 14)

The Newcastle Eagles won their third BBL Championship title in four years after defeating their old rivals, the Scottish Rocks, 87-70 at the MetroRadio Arena. The Eagles stormed to the title with a 13 game winning streak in league competition; the streak is 16 games in all competitions and just one short of their all-time longest winning run.

The Rocks, meanwhile, have suffered a late season collapse by losing their last nine games and are at risk of dropping out of the playoffs.

Newcastle’s backcourt saw them to victory as Trey Moore led all scorers with 23 points and Reggie Jackson posted 15 points, 10 assists and 6 rebounds. The Eagles led from early in the game a Moore hit a pair of three-pointers in a 9-2 tear to lead 18-10. The Rocks managed to keep the game close as Gareth Murray connected from long range with the last play of the quarter to make the score 21-18.

The Eagles pushed the lead out once more in the second stanza, making it 36-24 on the back of a 13-4 push that included triples for Moore, Jackson and Charles Smith. However, the Rocks pulled it back through Rob Yanders, who had 6 points in an 8-2 run that made it a one-possession game at 41-39. The Eagles still led at 43-39 going into the locker rooms.

Newcastle restricted their visitors to just 12 points in the third quarter. Jackson opened it with a three- pointer, before a 9-2 run pushed it back into double- figures at 55-45, and that would prove to be enough to see them home.

They maintained that lead in the fourth quarter until, after four minutes, they made the decisive run as triples from Moore and Andrew Bridge contributed to a 9-0 run that saw the lead peak at 80-61 with 3:55 remaining.