The Eagles have secured one clean sweep already this year by winning all three awards in the Basketball Journalists Association’s Awards.

Joe Chapman was the first two-time winner of the Player of the Year award whilst Andrew Thomson won the Pete Jacques Award for BBL British Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Completing the sweep Fab Flournoy was named Coach of the Year.

Joe Chapman beat Leicester’s Ayron Hardy into second place with his Riders team-mate Cameron Rundles in third. Great Britain captain Drew Sullivan of Leicester Riders was runner-up in the British Player of the Year category with Plymouth Raiders forward Anthony Rowe in third.

Fab Flournoy was a clear winner for Coach of the Year, receiving almost three times as many votes as second-placed Rob Paternostro of Leicester, his adversary in this Saturday’s BBL play-off final in Birmingham.

Paul James of Worcester Wolves came third in the coaching race.